EBA Blog

Advice and Updates

Articles and anecdotes from the day to day world of employer branding.

Recommended

Talent in 2023: Lean in or lose

January 20, 2023 Mark Puncher

The world of work has changed, and so have we. In an unsettled, uncertain market, a strategic approach to talent matters more than ever before… and I reckon it’s do or die. Here’s why.

Read more

Employer brand in the candidate experience: Advice for HR and TA leaders

May 26, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

There are many elements that make up your employer brand - from your employee value proposition messaging and people-focused blog content, to your CEO’s LinkedIn posts and company reviews on Glassdoor. Whether you like it or not, your organisation has an employer brand.

Read more

5 Reasons Why Businesses Fail at Employer Brand Storytelling … And What You Can Do About Them

March 30, 2022 Lauren Forcey

Pop quiz! If you want to appeal to the hearts and minds of potential new talent (and keep your existing high performers), what would be more engaging: facts and figures or a ripping story?

Read more

Latest

Australia is about to start reporting on the gender pay gap. How will your organisation shape up in the public eye?

February 19, 2024 Tahlia Robinson

On International Women’s Day 2022, hundreds of organisations around the world posted their typical feel-good “we love women” content in honour of the occasion. What could go wrong?

Read more

How to choose the right employer branding partner

February 18, 2024 Tahlia Robinson

So, you’ve decided to invest in your employer brand. How do you find the right partner? There are plenty of paths to choose from.

Read more

The right to decent work: How Dr Maria Hameed Khan puts theory into practice at EBA

February 05, 2024 Tahlia Robinson

We all know work takes up a massive portion of our lives, so it stands to reason that if we want to live well, we have to work well. This is the topic Dr Maria Hameed Khan has spent much of her academic career investigating.

Read more

Will AI redefine authenticity in employer branding?

January 15, 2024 Tahlia Robinson

This time last year, everyone was predicting whether “this ChatGPT thing” would be a passing fad or a cultural shift. Now, it’s safe to say that AI will have a lasting impact on how we live and work.

Read more

The 4 steps of EBArticulate that will make your EVP shine

January 12, 2024 Tahlia Robinson

In the past few years, the world of talent has rotated around the proverbial sun that is Employee Value Propositions (EVPs). HR, TA and EB specialists have put it at the top of their priority lists, and for good reason - invest in EVP development and articulation, and your organisation will reap the rewards.

Read more

Keeping connected during parental leave: 4 considerations for HR leaders

December 18, 2023 Tahlia Robinson, with Hannah Brink

Expecting a baby is equal parts deliriously exciting and seriously nerve-wracking, and being a working parent can make it all the more complicated.

Read more

Farewell 2023, Hello 2024!

December 10, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Our year in review blog has become something of a tradition for the EBA team. It’s nice to carve out time to pause and reflect on our wins and learnings from the year that’s been, and set our sights on some goals and dreams for the year to come.

Read more

Why knowing your audience (and where to find them) is the secret sauce your job ads need to succeed

November 28, 2023 Amy Brooks

14 seconds. That’s how long it takes most candidates to decide whether to keep reading a job advertisement or move on. So, how do you make yourself memorable?

Read more

From the stage to the page: How Ben uses all forms of storytelling to connect, share and inspire

November 23, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Storytelling is a deeply human way to connect. Stories help us learn. They help us relate to one another. They connect us. Ben has always held tightly to the value of storytelling.

Read more

Why investing in video storytelling will do wonders for your employer brand

November 06, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

People love a good story, and videos are one of the most compelling forms of storytelling. They’re visually interesting, they quickly capture attention, and they’re an effective way to communicate and connect with your audience.

Read more

5 ways to boost employee engagement and battle burnout

October 19, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Your people, and the culture they form, have an incredible impact on the success (or failure) of your business. Employees who feel connected to their team, your shared values and your overarching mission are likely to make a positive contribution.

Read more

Combining innovation and insights: How Eden Boyd helps organisations tell their true story

October 16, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Stories have the power to connect, inspire, and drive change. The challenge is bringing each chapter of the narrative together. Thankfully, Eden Boyd is on the job.

Read more

Bursting With Passion: Why Kirsty Heigan Believes Employer Branding Can Make a Profound Difference

September 26, 2023 Eden Boyd and Tahlia Robinson

For Kirsty Heigan, a workplace means so much more than just a place to work. When organisations want to shape a positive future for their people, incredible things can happen.

Read more

Want to develop a great EVP? Start with your people

September 25, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

If you wanted to know what it was like to work at an organisation, who would you ask? Who really knows what the day-to-day feels like? Everybody say it with me - the people who already work there.

Read more

‘Are we right for each other?’ Six alternative job interview questions to help you find your match

August 28, 2023 Lauren Forcey

Imagine receiving nearly 300 applications for your job ad … in one week! And not from poor-quality candidates, either. We’re talking about high-quality, highly engaged candidates who make your task of choosing just one quite the challenge!

Read more

Going the Distance: Lauren Forcey’s Dedication to Storytelling Takes Her to New Heights

August 21, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Lauren Forcey has travelled paths only those with true determination are willing to take. No matter the twists and turns in the trail, our Senior Storyteller rises to any challenge she faces, and does so with great humility.

Read more

Why onboarding matters (and how to get it right)

August 11, 2023 Tahlia Robinson, with Amy Brooks and Emma Sparks

Imagine you’ve just landed a new job and you’re super keen for your first day. You walk in the door… and your manager seems like they’ve forgotten you were coming.

Read more

How to conduct the perfect interview - and hire the right person for the job

July 23, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Finding the right person to join your team is crucial for the success of any organisation. The interview process is your chance to explore your mutual fit - assessing if the individual has the skills, experience and cultural fit necessary for you.

Read more

Location, location, location: tips for attracting talent outside the big cities

June 26, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Location is a big part of your talent offer - for better or worse. If you’re in a regional area, you may struggle more than those in the major cities to attract the talent you need. But there are plenty of reasons why someone might prefer to live and work in your area.

Read more

Offboarding: a make or break moment for your employer brand

May 27, 2023 Tahlia Robinson

Throughout the employee journey, there is a host of moments that matter, and one important moment is an employee’s offboarding experience.

Read more

How to measure your employer brand and ensure your investment is worth the money

April 21, 2023 Mark Puncher and Tahlia Robinson

Five metrics to consider when tracking your ROI

Read more

Competing with bigger businesses for talent? Here’s how you can use size to your advantage.

February 10, 2023 Lauren Forcey

When it comes to attracting and retaining talent, it’s easy to presume small businesses are at a disadvantage.

Read more

Talent in 2023: Lean in or lose

January 20, 2023 Mark Puncher

The world of work has changed, and so have we. In an unsettled, uncertain market, a strategic approach to talent matters more than ever before… and I reckon it’s do or die. Here’s why.

Read more

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

December 15, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

As we deck the halls of our humble abode, we can’t help but reflect on the year that was. 2022 brought so much goodness for us at EBA and so many more team members to share it with. And 2023 is promising to be bigger and better than ever.

Read more

More than a campaign: What employer branding means to me

December 12, 2022 Julia Bartrim

My friend recently got promoted to a high-level management role at a well-established organisation. He’s responsible for creating a team from scratch but struggling to find decent candidates. After seven months of recruitment, he only has four people.

Read more

The good, the bad and the ugly: Why an honest EVP will help you keep the right people

December 12, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

What’s the purpose of an Employee Value Proposition? Is it to sell your organisation as a great place to work? Well, sort of. But not quite.

Read more

How to write a great job ad: 5 tips for a successful hiring campaign

November 02, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

Ever posted an ad for a good job, only to find you get no responses… or lots of candidates, few of whom are right for the role?

Read more

Want to drive pride, connection and belonging? Humanise your culture through stories

October 22, 2022 Lauren Forcey

When I first arrived in tropical Far North Queensland, I was 21 and had never seen a gecko in my life. Suddenly, I found myself living with 2 million of them.

Read more

A match made in... BeReal? Attracting Gen Z talent on social media

September 26, 2022 Amy Brooks and Tahlia Robinson

In the world of social media, where everything shared is a highlight reel, it can be difficult to distinguish true moments of authenticity from a thinly veiled marketing ploy.

Read more

Active Employee Advocacy: How User-Generated Content Shapes Your Employer Brand

September 09, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

Ever wondered what an #InstagramInfluencer and your employer brand could have in common? Okay, you’ve probably never wondered that. But I bet you are now!

Read more

The Future Favours the Flexible: Reflections from the 2022 AHRI National Convention

August 30, 2022 David Concannon

It’s a topic that comes up in discussion with our clients and partners again and again… and again a few more times: what does flexible work look like in the future?

Read more

Six top tips for attracting and retaining talent in a Brave New World

August 19, 2022 Mark Puncher

I’ve never seen a more competitive, aggressive talent market than we’ve experienced in 2022. There are indications that Australia has seen a sharp increase in resignations, and in some sectors, there may be more to come.

Read more

Employer brand in the candidate experience: Advice for HR and TA leaders

May 26, 2022 Tahlia Robinson

There are many elements that make up your employer brand - from your employee value proposition messaging and people-focused blog content, to your CEO’s LinkedIn posts and company reviews on Glassdoor. Whether you like it or not, your organisation has an employer brand.

Read more

5 Reasons Why Businesses Fail at Employer Brand Storytelling … And What You Can Do About Them

March 30, 2022 Lauren Forcey

Pop quiz! If you want to appeal to the hearts and minds of potential new talent (and keep your existing high performers), what would be more engaging: facts and figures or a ripping story?

Read more

Wrapping up another year at Employer Branding Australia!

December 24, 2021 Tahlia Robinson

Just like that, another year has come to an end. Before we turn on the out of office email replies and treat our desk plants to a summer holiday at home, the team at Employer Branding Australia has paused to reflect on the time we’ve spent together this year.

Read more

Want to Grow Your Business? Start Telling Your Stories!

September 27, 2021 Lauren Forcey

I love a good story. Fiction, non-fiction, drama, comedy, action, even Western - I don’t mind, so long as there are some characters I can relate to, a hook or two to keep it interesting, and it transports me to a different world for a while.

Read more

Leaders and HR: How to respond to COVID-19? People. Still People.

April 07, 2020 Mark Puncher

COVID-19 has changed so much, for so many of us. Mark Puncher shares four personal perspectives on how leaders and people & culture specialists might respond.

Read more

Why invest in employer branding?

October 15, 2019 Emily Dickson

Creative, structured employer branding works! There is consistent and compelling evidence that it drives up talent results. Here are 10 stats to support your business case.

Read more

Employer Branding Australia’s 1st Birthday!

March 20, 2019 Emily Dickson

On March 22nd 2019, it will be exactly one year since Founder and Chief Energy Officer of Employer Branding Australia Mark Puncher pressed go on launching his business whilst sipping a coffee in the middle of Brisbane. And what an adventure it has been so far.

Read more

Candidate whistle-blowing: What Olivia Bland’s story means for employers

February 22, 2019 Emily Dickson

Employers have mistreated candidates for decades. From disrespectful behaviour and inappropriate questions to unpaid 'trial shifts' and dance offs to 'test confidence', this stuff still happens! Here's our take.

Read more

3 Steps to a Happier Team in the New Year

December 04, 2018 Emily Dickson

The Christmas tree is still up, left-over pudding and pasta salad is spilling from the fridge, and the summer sun sizzles as you sip a sprite. Ah… it’s holiday time. But as you relax, there’s something niggling at the back of your mind… you can’t help but think about the inevitable First. Day. Back. At. Work. It’s only a week away, but right now, it feels like you could float on your inflatable flamingo for eternity…

Read more

How to get your CEO to Invest in Recruitment

November 27, 2018 Emily Dickson

When it comes to convincing your CEO to invest in a quality recruitment process, it’s all about effective communication to nail your pitch. CEOs are hard-pressed for time, so the few moments you have with them count. The key question you need to ask yourself is: What does the CEO want and how does a better recruitment process help them get there?

Read more

Dear Interviewers. Please don’t say that to me

November 23, 2018 Emily Dickson

“Treat others as you’d like to be treated” is something our mothers told us all the time – even when we came home crying, and wishing with all our heart that we could take revenge on the school bully. But as distraught as we were, most of us kept to these deeply-ingrained values of mutual respect and kindness. Yet, as I’m starting to realise, there’s something sinister that can come out in people when they see someone else at their most vulnerable point.

Read more

5 Ways Websites Turn Away Job Seekers

November 06, 2018 Emily Dickson

We examined 50 random Australian careers websites and found that employers are simply not doing enough to captivate talent and turn them into candidates. In fact, employers are failing in 5 key design areas - making it hard for job seekers to even find job listings, learn about what it is like to work for a particular company, and get a sense of an organisation’s genuine employer brand.

Read more

5 Ways Job Ads Fail to Attract Job Seekers

November 01, 2018 Emily Dickson

We analysed 50 random job listings on Seek, one of Australia’s most visited job boards, and found employers are actively turning off job seekers. The results reveal employers are failing to attract job seekers in 5 key ways.

Read more

The problem with employer branding companies in Australia is...(Choose the right EB partner or don’t bother)

October 19, 2018 Mark Puncher

My close friends will tell you that I love a bit of self-deprecation. Hey, I’m a middle aged Englishman; it’s how we get attention. But this article, I’m pleased to say, isn’t that. It’s actually the opposite.

Read more

CEOs! If you want the best people, get strategic about how you recruit them (3 recruitment tips for CEOs)

September 07, 2018 Mark Puncher

Every leader knows the importance of employing the right people. The quality and engagement of your workforce is the key factor of organisational success, mediocrity or downright failure.

Read more

5 Ways to Help Your Team Manage Stress

August 29, 2018 Emily Dickson

Almost 3 out of 4 Australians are stressed at work. Yet research suggests only 1 in 2 employees would be honest with their boss if they were asked “Are you okay?” and they weren’t.

Read more

Goliath lost. How smaller employers can beat the big players to the best talent

June 08, 2018 Mark Puncher

Competing with bigger organisations can be tough but it’s a battle you can win. If you’re the underdog in an arena of giants, here’s how you can fight smarter and punch above your weight.

Read more

Want to be known as an employer of choice? Start by treating your people well and giving them reasons to engage.

April 27, 2018 Mark Puncher

In a recruitment market full of SHOUTY JOB ADS!!!!, lazy mistruths and hollow hype, here’s my advice on being, and showing that you really are, a great Australian employer.

Read more

Candidates in 2018: Informed, expectant and always ready to move

April 10, 2018 Mark Puncher

Candidate expectations and behaviours are changing dramatically yet too many Australian employers are still doing what they’ve always done. Here’s what’s changed and how you need to respond.

Read more

The Roles of HR and Marketing in Employer Branding

March 2018 Mark Puncher

If you’re working in recruitment or HR, you’ll know the common question - Is employer branding a job for HR or marketing? The answer, obviously, is that both need to be involved. The secret is understanding when and how. Here’s what experience has taught me.

Read more

4 Employer Branding Fails

March 2018 Mark Puncher

Employer branding is on pretty much every organisation’s radar right now but not everyone’s getting it right. Here are 4 examples of what not to do, featuring people and organisations who really should know better. We challenge you not to laugh out loud.

Read more

Imagine if we were honest during the recruitment process?

March 2018 Mark Puncher

All candidates and employers want from each other is honesty - to really get to the truth about each other before committing. So why are we still doing that awkward dance?

Read more